'The school, through its distinctive Christian character, is outstanding at meeting the needs of all learners.' SIAMS Inspection Report

School governors are people from the school’s community who wish to make a positive contribution to children’s education. They must be aged 18 or over at the date of their election or appointment. Persons under 18 may become Associate Members. There is no upper age limit.

Governors form the largest volunteer force in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards through their three key roles of setting strategic direction, ensuring accountability and monitoring and evaluating school performance.

"A governing body's overriding responsibility is to work in partnership with the Head Teacher to promote continuous improvement in the performance of the school.  This involves the establishment of a development plan, the setting of challenging but achievable targets and the interpretation of information to access progress and determine appropriate action. Aligned to its improvement role, the governing body is there to be a critical friend who can provide the right balance between supporting and challenging the performance of both the Head Teacher and the school." School Governor Recruitment Toolkit

We are grateful to our Governing Body for their ongoing support and guidance. The Governing Body is Chaired by Julia Brown and she is supported by Vice-Chair, Ali Paterson.

The following table displays the statutory information the school must share about the governing body. The final column includes information relating to governors' business interests, additional governance roles in other educational establishments and personal relationships with staff/governors.

NameRoleTermAppointed byAdditional information
Julia Brown  Co-opted Governor 4 years (from September '23) Governors None
Patrick Barber Co-opted Governor 4 years (from March '24)  Governors Parent of pupil 
Lucy Swales Parent Governor 4 years (from November '21) Elected Parent of pupil
Kate Dudley-Smith Staff Governor 4 years (from September '23) Elected None
Charlotte French Co-opted Governor 4 years (from September '23) Governors Parent of pupil
Rev Morna Simpson Foundation Governor 4 years (from March '21) Diocese None
Emma Aylesbury LA Governor TBC  4 years (from July '22) LA None
Paul Fegan Co-opted Governor 4 years (from April '24)  Governors None
Peter Handcock Parent Governor 4 years (from March '24)  Governors None
Pete Collins Co-opted Governor 4 years (from December '20) Governors None
John Wayland Head Teacher 4 years (ongoing) Governors Parent of pupil
 Calum Dow Foundation Governor 4 years (from May '23)  Diocese Parent of pupil 


It is a statutory responsibility for schools to publish information on governor attendance at full governing body and committee meetings. This information is shown below with governors identified by their initials.


GB meeting attendance 2023-24    
   September '23 November '23 January '24 March '24 April '24 July '24
JB No Yes Yes  Yes    
LB Yes Yes Yes  Yes    
EA Yes Yes Yes  No    
KDS Yes Yes Yes   Yes    
CF Yes Yes Yes  Yes    
PC Yes No  Yes No    
JW Yes Yes Yes   Yes    
MS Yes Yes Yes No    
LS No Yes Yes   Yes     
PH Yes Yes No  Yes    
JR Yes  No  -  - - -
CD Yes Yes No  No    
PF - - - -    
PB - - - Yes    




Pay & Personnel Committee meeting attendance 2023-24
  October 2024 (HTPM)   
JB  Yes  
JW  Yes  
PC  Yes